This post will guide you through employee leave laws for businesses and workers located in the state of Utah.
Follow this guide to understand employers’ obligations for vacation time, paid time off (PTO), sick leave, parental leave, bereavement and more, along with state holidays observed in Utah.
This page is intended for reference purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Please see official government sources or consult a legal professional for actual legal advice.
Employers in Utah do not have to provide paid or unpaid vacation time.
Utah law does not address Use It or Lose It policies, suggesting that employers are free to implement such a policy if they wish.
Employers are advised to make any rules, such as Use It or Lose It, clear in company policy and/or employees’ contracts.
Employers in Utah are not required to pay out any unused PTO upon separation of employment (such as when an employee quits, is fired, is laid off or retires), unless company policy promises it.
Sick leave is not required by law in Utah (paid or unpaid).
Besides any state laws or provisions written into employment contracts, employers in Utah must comply with the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), which entitles eligible employees the right to take 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave for serious health conditions, or to care for spouses, children or parents with a serious health condition.
The following official state holidays are observed in Utah:
|January 1||New Year’s Day|
|3rd Monday in January||Martin Luther King, Jr. Day|
|3rd Monday in February||Presidents Day|
|Last Monday in May||Memorial Day|
|July 4||Independence Day|
|July 24||Pioneer Day|
|1st Monday in September||Labor Day|
|2nd Monday in October||Columbus Day|
|November 11||Veterans Day|
|4th Thursday in November||Thanksgiving|
There is no requirement to allow employees a paid or unpaid day off for state holidays, and employees required to work on state holidays are not legally entitled to extra compensation (such as higher pay or a compensatory day off), unless promised in their employment contract.
There are no Utah state laws covering maternity leave.
The FMLA does apply, however, entitling new mothers to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave for the birth of a new child, as well as the placement of a new adoption or foster.
Paternity leave is not covered by law in Utah, but fathers have the same right to unpaid, job-protected leave of up to 12 weeks for the birth of their child, or a new adoption or fostered child.
There is no legal requirement for Utah employers to provide bereavement leave.
Employers must allow employees to serve jury duty without being terminated, threatened or punished, but any time off is not required to be paid.
Employees are allowed up to two hours of paid time off to vote, unless they have at least three consecutive hours outside of working time to vote while polls are still open.
Federal Law (the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA)) applies in Utah, which states that military service members receive up to five years of unpaid leave for military service, and upon returning, must be reinstated to the same position (or an equivalent position) as they had before their leave.
Anything not covered in Utah state leave laws is up to the discretion of the employer, such as whether or not to provide paid sick leave or PTO, or whether PTO rolls over from year to year.
However, if any benefits are laid out in an employee’s contract or company policy, employers must comply with what has been agreed in that document.
For example, if an employee’s contract states that they are to receive 12 days of PTO each year, the employer is legally required to provide this, even though paid time off is not required by state law.